Another Week Slipping By

Hi everyone, hope your week has been going well. I have wanted to write this week but time never seemed to be on my side. Work has been a tad stressful and my time off has been hectic, to say the least.

I have been debating rather to put a disclaimer that I am not a Jew on my front page or maybe not. The reason is, the last time I met with my Rabbi. He seemed really concerned about how other Jews perceive me since I am not a Jew. To be honest, I still do not understand his concern. Plus, I hope that I have not misrepresented my religious status. But, if it is best that I make sure that everyone knows that I desire to convert to Judaism (Maybe some day, anyway) and I am not a Jew, then that is what I will do. What are your thoughts on this?

3 responses to “Another Week Slipping By

  1. You might be Jewish in your heart…but in actuality, you are not considered Jewish unless your mother is Jewish…carrying it on through the maternal line, or unless you officially convert.

    So, in essence, you feel Jewish, and that is a big difference than actually BEING Jewish, whether by maternal lineage or conversion.

  2. When I say you feel Jewish in your heart I really mean that you are considering the possibility of someday converting. But, the same standards apply re lineage or conversion.

Leave a Reply

