Friday Ramblings

Hi Everyone, I kind of slip this week again with limited posting. I assure you that if I could I would post more. The picture above was taken on a hill side overlooking Charlotte Amalie on the Caribbean island of St. Thomas. I have been there about four times and love the place.

~~~

This morning while eating breakfast and guzzling down a protein shake, I was thinking about were my fitness is now compared to where it was only couple of months ago. I think the major improvement has been my shin strength. I can actually see my shin muscle flexing now, which is something I have not seen in a while. I can remember all the trouble they would give me during training, but now, I still get muscle failure during my hard workouts but not much pain anymore. The only bad part about muscle failure of the shin is that my foot slaps the ground on heel impact, which probably slows me down a bit. Oh well, I figure that it won’t be long and that will be a thing of the past too.

As for my performance, I am still impressed that I have been doing 14 minute miles lately. Wasn’t long ago I thought this kind of pace would be unattainable. What is still unknown to me is if I can do a 14 minute mile pace for 13.1 miles. This happens to be my goal for the half marathon in April. I will soon find out though, my training group will have routes in March that will approach 12 miles, so I should know by then what I will be able to accomplish. Most important thing of all is that I am having fun.

I am still debating on rather to do two half marathons this year or one. The Illinois Marathon is in May and that is the one I would really want to walk in. I am most definitely going to walk in the Lincoln Memorial Half Marathon in April, but it is nothing like the Illinois Marathon. Unfortunately, I would have to stay over night in a hotel and I am not sure I want to leave my wife alone with a new born and a two year old. I am still thinking about it and discussing it with my wife.

~~~

My thoughts and prayers still go out the families, friends, loved ones that were lost, and anyone else that has been touched by the tragic earthquake in Haiti. My friend, Jewwishes has posted a special prayer by Chief Rabbi Lord Jonathan Sacks that one could pray Shabbat. Thanks Jewwishes for posting this and I will be praying it with you.

~~~

Shabbat Shalom!

9 responses to “Friday Ramblings

  1. I am so very impressed by your performances. Well-done James. I hope life is treating you well.

  2. Keep up the good work, James! I jogged in the 1994 L.A. Marathon, and finished it. It was exhausting, and I was sore on the bottom of my feet for weeks afterwards, although it was worth every step. I trained for it for six months prior.

    Thank you for the link.

    Shabbat Shalom.

    • Wow, I think I will stay with half marathons for a while. 🙂 However, a full marathon is something I want to do in the future. Right now I am taking your advice and not over doing it, I am taking baby steps with my conditioning. Plus, I need to be a little faster because right now I am too slow for full marathons, even if I could finish one.

      That is a major accomplishment to finish a marathon, great job jewwishes! 🙂

      • Thank you, James. I wasn’t going for time, I was going for endurance and to be able to just finish the marathon, which was a personal goal of mine.

        My feet weren’t the only sore issue (the blisters took over a month to disappear). LOL. My sides were sore from my tee shirt rubbing against them for the 26.2 miles…which also caused blisters. And, I wore a very light Coolmax shirt. I could go on and on, but I am not trying to discourage you. Just be aware of the after affects/effects.

  3. Dropping by to say hi, James.

    • Thanks for stopping by, jewwishes! 🙂

      Right now I have no marathons booked for this year. I am still trying to build a fitness base to be able to do a marathon with minimal risk of injury, or at least reduce it anyway. Yes, a marathon is a monumental feat that I am not taking lightly. It is an adventure and I want to conquer it. 🙂

      BTW, I have been a bad blogger lately, sorry about that. A lot of stuff on the mind and have not had time for the blog.

  4. Have a nice weekend, James.

    Shabbat Shalom!

  5. Thinking of you and yours, James.

Leave a Reply

