Out of the Ashes! (Part1)

Yes, I am taking this blog out of the ashes. It has been awhile since I have posted here. As I look back at the last post written here on January 22, 2010, I see that I had written about my new hobby of walking. Well I actually did walk in the Lincoln Memorial Half Marathon and I surpassed my pace goal of a 14 minute mile by doing a 13:30 average. I had an awesome time and I did really well, even impressing myself.

These days I have my sites on walking a full marathon. As of this writing, I am on week 14 of a 24 week training schedule too get myself ready for my first marathon in October. Unfortunately, these 14 weeks have not come without some major difficulties. Two weeks after doing Lincoln Memorial Half in April, I started my 24 week training and noticed that I was having a tough time breathing. I was starting to get progressively worse as the weeks went on. Last year this same thing happened in the spring but it went away after a few weeks. I do not know how I did it but I soldiered through it in hopes that it would go away.

In June, I started having the usual massive sinus attacks. Unlike all the others, this went strait to the lungs and gave me a severe cold. I am truly not a person who visits the doctor’s office much, but this was pretty bad and I needed help. Plus, it was affecting my training even worse than it already was. The doctor at urgent care prescribed me antibiotics and a rescue inhaler. I did get over the cold in short order though, thank goodness for that because it was painful. Furthermore, I was supposed to take two puffs on the inhaler ever 6 hours. As I followed the prescription, I noticed that my training was so much better, almost like a switch was flipped. Even my daily life was improving. As I said before, I am not the going to the doctor kind of person but I was in a dilemma. The inhaler was only going to last a month at the current dosage and I had no refills on it. So, I broke down and visited my primary doctor who I haven’t visited in maybe a decade. Boy, I was surprised that he would have taken me back as a patient, but he did. I am so grateful for that.

My primary doctor ordered a few test including the Pulmonary Function Test (PFT). I had to go to the hospital to have the PFT done. I have to admit, the PFT was brutal for me. The prerequisite for the test is not using the inhaler 6 hours prior to the test. So, when I went for the test. I was having a pretty bad day in the breathing department. During the test, it became obvious that I was failing miserably. After the test I had to wait almost two weeks for my doctor to get the results. In the mean time, my primary doctor prescribed me another rescue inhaler because the other one was almost gone. Whew, I was sure glad to get that prescription filled.

Well, after the two weeks of waiting. My doctor referred me to a Pulmonologist so that I can be official diagnosed. Shockingly, my appointment was not until October, but they put me on a waiting list. I almost had a panic attack when I saw the appointment. Anyway, there must have been a cancelation because I had appointment two days later, whew. I was really fretting over having to wait that long. Although, why such a rush now? I mean, I have sat on this issue for three months and now I want to rush. Frankly, I was hoping it would go away but I was not so lucky.

The day finally arrived and I had a great visit with the doctor. I was official diagnosed with moderate to severe asthma and was put on a management plan. I have an inhaler that I take every twelve hours and it has been really helpful. I have been on this medication for a week now and I have been breathing pretty well. The great thing is that I have not needed the rescue inhaler since I started the twelve hour inhaler. I go back to the Pulmonologist for a breathing test and a follow-up visit in a couple of weeks, hopefully he is happy with my progress.

Personally, I have been kind bummed about being diagnosed with asthma. Seeing that it has only been a week, I am still kind of cranky about it. I guess it will take time to get a grip on this. I feel sorry for my family and friends who have been listening to me whine about this. Nevertheless, asthma is a chronic lung disease and I would rather spend another forty three years with out it. Yeah, I am fretting over it still, sorry.

Boy, I have been long winded about my health issues. This ends part one, I am think I am going to do part 2 about my faith in God and my religious status. That seems to be another area that is a little messy, go figure.

Thanks for getting this far…I will be back with part two.

7 responses to “Out of the Ashes! (Part1)

  1. So glad to see you back to blogging. Sorry to read about the asthma though. I suppose it will take a little time before you get used to the idea and know how to deal with the situation when you have a fit.
    Looking forward to part two.

    • Thanks ilanadavita for stopping by. Yes, there is some fear of the unknown here. I have already had one asthma attack while mowing the lawn and it was interesting, if not scary. So, you are right, I need a little time to get used to my asthma. So far everything seems to be going well for me now. I still have rough days but I have not needed to use the rescue inhaler. It looks like my daily medicine is doing it’s job, which is a good thing.

  2. Hey! Glad to see you back, although not so good about the asthma. My BH was diagnosed with it as an adult and it doesn’t cause too many problems. But I agree, the psychology of being told you have something long-term takes a while to deal with. but I am sure all of your walking will help keep you fit. Fantastic job!

  3. I’m sorry about the asthma, James, and understand and relate…as I also have it.

    Exercise is a plus in your daily routine…even for asthmatics. It will help you eventually.

    Are you taking Symbicort 2x daily? I do.

    You will adjust, it’s just the initial response.

  4. Thanks Jew Wishes! Yes, I am taking Symbicort, 2 puffs twice a day. Other than the nasty taste, I think it is really helping. I still have rough days though, but it is manageable.

  5. Hi James. I know this is an old(ish) post, but I’m catching up… You are lucky tho that you’ve gone so long without asthma, tho as an adult it’s probably a lot harder to adjust. I’ve had it since I was 11 and it’s hard to imagine life completely without it. Tho mine’s relatively mild most of the time.
    I also really enjoy reading about your Jewish journey, as some one who was born a religious Jew and tended to take it for granted most of my life. Keep it up! I like your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

