Walk Talk – Health or Perseverance!

I was talking to a friend today and we where talking about our health. She is actually a friend of the family and also a co-worker, small world. So, as we where talking, somehow we ended up on the whole athlete and asthma thing. She was under the impression that, just because I am so active, asthma was not affecting my training or racing. Sadly, that is not true. It is affecting me so much that I find it debilitating at times. Good thing is that I was in really good athletic shape before the first asthma symptoms crept up on me. In the endurance department, I have gained a lot of cardiovascular capability and I am able to, somewhat, operate on below normal lung function. Now, do not get me wrong, I will not choose a walking pace that starts taxing my lungs. They will complain when I do. As a result, there are days when I am disappointingly unable to train or race like I would want too. However, its like anything else, there are good days and bad days.

So just about the end of the conversation it hit me, in my future races, will I persevere too the finish or quite during the race if my health deteriorates? That is the big question. It would be great if we where talking about a blister or whatever. I have walked though some serious blisters with little problem and they healed. I have had leg cramps and with tested nutrition, that is not much of a problem either. I guess to answer the question is, yes, I will stop if my lungs go crazy. I would be disappointed because of all the training I put into the race, but it would be better than being in the ER. Plus, this stuff is for fun and not worth dying for. There are other races and other chances to finish. I pretty sure I will make the marathon, but if I feel bad before or during the race, I think it would be best to stop.

10 responses to “Walk Talk – Health or Perseverance!

  1. I hope you manage to find a rhythm that suits you.
    Do you still log in your steps on Walker Tracker?

    • Thanks Ilana, I have started step tracking again under the handle of jwalker1. I like this username better than the one I had before. I am going to remove the other account soon.

  2. Stopping would be a MUST. I hope things even out for you, so you can complete your desired goal.

    • Me too, Jewwishes. From what I have learned about asthma so far is that it is nothing to take lightly. As you might well know, I am still struggling with coming to terms with my illness, I hate it.

  3. This is a really tough question, and one that I still battle out with myself. Last year I ran 16km with the beginnings of a cold, and I really hesitated about starting. In the end I did participate, but had to stop pretty much every 10 minutes or so to take more Ventolin. I kept going and did complete it without getting into trouble, but I still look back and think it was a pretty dumb move. I had a lot more trouble with the asthma since then, and I don’t know if that would have happened anyway, or if it’s partly my own fault for pushing myself too far.

    The problem was, I’d been doubting all along whether I had it in me to complete the event… if I’d pulled out, I’d never really have known if I was just making excuses to myself or if I had a valid reason. Plus, I would have just been far too ashamed to tell people I’d pulled out at the last minute.

    I’m still getting a grip on my own asthma and trying to figure out when I can keep going, and when I need to stop. Tough, isn’t it?

  4. Hmm, decisions, decisions. Before my recent, ahem, challenges, I would have been bloody-minded about it and carried on regardless, I was that stupid. But maturity has got the better of me recently. There’s always another race to take part in. Yes, it is so very tough, but your health is something more valuable than any medal or record or time challenge. It’s the hardest thing to learn, for sure. But a lesson learned well, and you can only learn it the way you know how!

    My goodness, I almost sound like I know what I’m talking about… chortle, chortle…. This must be the person who is also finally wearing her Medic Alert bracelet 24/7 as well – it ain’t any use gathering dust in the drawer, is it!!! 🙂

    • Hi Rachel, yeah, I sometimes do some pretty boneheaded things, which being in my 40s, one would think I should know better. I am just giving this some thought and try to make a oath too myself, not to over do it. I wear a Road ID when I train and walking events, that way if I can’t talk they will at least know I am asthmatic. Although, I am not sure I need a Medic Alert bracelet other times. I might have to think about that.

      I hope you are seeing a light at the end of the tunnel again, ((BIG HUGS))!

  5. I hate it too, James. But, education is knowledge, so they say, and you are aware of the medical necessities, etc. So, it is positive from that perspective. Just keep on listening to your body, and not what others expect of you. Be aware at all times.

    It sucks, literally, in more ways than one. But, I have learned a lot about my body since being diagnosed with asthma.

    Even if you feel great, ten minutes later you might not. Be cautious.

    xoxo

    • Thanks jewwishes, it sure is tough. I find myself always on guard now. Heck, I am scared to death of my sinuses. I definitely do not want bronchitis again. I try not to make such a big deal in front of everyone, but in reality, it is a really big deal. I do not think people realize, I could be here one day and gone the next if I do not keep on top of this.

Leave a Reply

