Middle of the Week Grumble

Huh…Just realized that it is Wednesday already.

It has been kind of busy at my work. My work has a charity committee every year and I decided to join this year. Well, Monday was the Central Illinois Community Blood Center fund raiser and blood donation event. It basically consisted of a portable unit called a Bloodmobile that was parked in our parking lot and a cookout with the proceeds being donated to the Center. My duty for the day was to man the grill. Sadly, the weather was kind of crummy so the turn out for the cookout was not that great. However, the Blood Center said the blood donation was better than they expected. Well, I wish we could have donated more money but the blood donation was great. Anyway, even though it was draining, I had fun.

I awakened this morning at my normal time around 3:00am and wanted to train this morning but decided to be lazy. Frankly, after the last couple of days, I was just not into it. Plus, I was a tad tight for some reason. Anyway, it was getting close to my son’s early morning feeding and since I was up, I scooped the little one up and headed too the family room. There was no reason that mom needed to be awakened by my sons crankiness from hunger. I have been pretty lucky about not waking him up and he does sleep a little more in the pack-n-play we have setup. So, when he finally does get cranky, he is far enough away from the bedrooms to not wake anyone up. I do enjoy feeding him in the morning (or…pretty much anytime), he is a cutie!

I digressed, I was a little mad at myself for not getting in my training mileage but noticed that it was raining outside. Well, come to find out, it had been raining all morning and I was better off staying in after all. So, that eased my mind a bit.

I have discovered a new trigger for a flare-up, rain or mist. As I found out in the Ade’s Able 10K, sprinklers and misters wreck havoc on me too. As I was driving to work my chest tightened up big time and boy did my lungs hurt. When I walked into the building I had a coughing fit for a few minutes. I am fine now, but, what the heck? I guess that is why I was so tight this morning. My PF seemed normal but felt like I did not get my Symbicort and Spiriva in, but I am pretty sure now that I did. If this is the case, spring and fall are going to be rough for me, fun!

This week health wise, other than feeling like I was breathing in a paper bag the last couple of days, I am feeling pretty decent other wise, definitely better than the first half of last week. Frankly, I’ll take all the good days I can get.

So, there you have it, my week so far…thanks reading

7 responses to “Middle of the Week Grumble

  1. Not an easy condition. I am sorry you have to go through this.

    • I am coming to that same conclusion, ilanadavita. Actually, I am sorry that I subject you to me grumblings. Although, I find writing about it and letting it all out is therapeutic in a way. I need to write about other things though. Heck, I have yet to put the High Holy Days in perspective.

      Thanks for stopping by…BTW, I have been reading your blog, sorry for not commenting!

  2. I’m sorry, James. Asthma is frustrating, I know. Humidity doesn’t help, and affects our lungs more than we realize.

    I’m glad you listened to your body and took heed.

    • Hi jewwishes, how do you do it? This can not be considered under control. I am going to have to break down and see the doctor early. I have an appointment with him on the 5th of Oct, but I am not sure I should wait that long. Plus, I have been using the Ventolin a little more than what should be needed. That is pretty much telling me that I need some more help.

  3. James…yes…I think you should try to see the doctor sooner. Try to keep things in perspective…easy to say…I know. But, I have chronic asthma and have get bronchitis so often, it is defined as chronic bronchitis.

    Asthma is difficult to get under control. In fact, I’m not really sure it is ever under control, entirely. Each person is different, though. Plus, your training probably is not helping, what with the weather conditions, whatever is in the air, when you are out training, etc. The environment plays havoc on asthma. I am not implying you shouldn’t train, just stating the external conditions. Maybe you should wear a surgical type mask when training.

    • Boy, jewwishes, hit me with the hard stuff. Yeah, I think you nailed it. I don’t want it to be, but my walking is a contributing factor. Sunday, I walked 20 miles in 5 hours and I could barely blow in the peak flow meter. One would think that would be a clue. Darn it, I have worked hard to get my body in shape and I am just about ready to go for the marathon. What the heck is going on with this mutiny inside my chest?

      Anyway jewwishes, sorry for fretting about all this. I must be a wimp! Have a good evening my good friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

