30 Things You May Not Know About My Invisible Illness Meme

I guess this is better late than never. 😉 I think the National Invisible Chronic Illness Awareness Week is a wonderful thing and thought I would participate in their meme.

1. The illness I live with is: Asthma
2. I was diagnosed with it in the year: 2010
3. But I had symptoms since: I had some symptoms in 2009 but only lasted for three weeks.
4. The biggest adjustment I’ve had to make is: Remembering to take daily medications, something I have not had to worry about for 40 years. I had just started becoming an athlete again when my asthma symptoms arrived and stayed, now all my dreams of participating in marathons have been reevaluated to fit my health needs.
5. Most people assume: Just because I am training and competing in running events does not mean I am healthy. I take a huge health risk every time I lace-up my running shoes.
6. The hardest part about mornings are: I usually do not breathe well in the mornings so I usually take it easy. If I train early, I usually take my fast acting medication, but if I am really bad, I do not train.
7. My favorite medical TV show is: It is basically a primetime soap, Gray’s Anatomy.
8. A gadget I couldn’t live without is: I guess my smart phone.
9. The hardest part about nights are: Always waking up at 2:00am, either from asthma symptoms or medication side affects (or Both).
10. Each day I take 2 daily inhalers, 1 rescue inhaler, daily nasal spray, pills & vitamins. (No comments, please)
11. Regarding alternative treatments I: Not Interested
12. If I had to choose between an invisible illness or visible I would choose: I choose neither!
13. Regarding working and career: I am pretty much unaffected really; just need time for doctor visits. So far, I have not missed work because of symptoms.
14. People would be surprised to know: That a person can be here one day and gone the next, asthma can kill if it is not properly maintained!!!
15. The hardest thing to accept about my new reality has been: That it is never going away!
16. Something I never thought I could do with my illness that I did was: My illness is still new to me, so that is a work in progress. I am going to participate in a marathon in 3 weeks, that one comes pretty close.
17. The commercials about my illness: I have not seen any yet.
18. Something I really miss doing since I was diagnosed is: So far I have managed to not miss anything, but I do struggle sometimes.
19. It was really hard to have to give up: Again, my asthma has not stopped me much from what I like to do. But it has been tough to give up much needed marathon training time because of my illness flaring up.
20. A new hobby I have taken up since my diagnosis is: Studying my illness
21. If I could have one day of feeling normal again I would: I need more than a day of feeling normal to answer this question.
22. My illness has taught me: Not to take for granted my health or any one else’s. I need to start showing more compassion for those invisible illnesses, visible illnesses, and disabilities.
23. Want to know a secret? One thing people say that gets under my skin is: That I am taking too many drugs and I can become dependent on them.
24. But I love it when people: When friends allow my to lean on them for comfort when I am having a rough day, especially when I lean on them a lot.
25. My favorite motto, scripture, quote that gets me through tough times is: It could be worse; I could be in the ER!
26. When someone is diagnosed I’d like to tell them: It is a real shock at first, but find some friends to talk too. Just having someone to voice your concerns and discomforts with, even if every day, is a blessing.
27. Something that has surprised me about living with an illness is: How hard it actually is to mentally deal with it, especially on the real hard days.
28. The nicest thing someone did for me when I wasn’t feeling well was: Listen!!!
29. I’m involved with Invisible Illness Week because: I have an invisible illness and I know that my illness in misunderstood by most of the general public. Even people I meet everyday who have asthma, help promote this misunderstanding by keeping there internal struggles invisible.
30. The fact that you read this list makes me feel: humbled, if anything.

4 responses to “30 Things You May Not Know About My Invisible Illness Meme

  1. What great responses on your list!

    Take care, James.

  2. Good for you, for writing this up!

    I thought about writing this up for my affective disorder. But I feel fortunate that I have received a lot of help … I’m certainly not Virginia Woolf or the character from the Awakening walking into a lake. I’m hardly suffering, although I will have a hard time fasting on Yom Kippur because of my medication.

    It’s too bad you won’t consider a really good chiropractor for asthma – I have friends that have been treated by our local guru (maybe he’s the only one who is this good, I don’t know ), and their lives changed forever. Just a suggestion.

  3. That’s brilliant, good for you on doing this. 27 really resonates with me. I’m still struggling.

  4. I knew about Invisible Illness Week, but didn’t realize people were doing this. Not sure why I didn’t see it before. I have asthma and my daughter has epilepsy, Chiari I Malformation and UT Malformation. Even my extended family has many issues. I think we’re like the poster children for invisible illnesses. I think, in the end, my faith in God and my sense of humor are what keep me sane…in that order. 😉

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

