Friday Ramblings

Hey Everyone, I hope your week went well.

Health – No complaints, it was smooth sailing all week.

Marathon Training – Not going very well in this department. Talk about a seed that has been planted, my dear friend (who I love as a family member) has been relentless at chipping away at my bullheadedness on the dangers of doing these endurance events. I have just not been motivated to train lately. Frankly, I can not rule out the possible that I might have a COPD component too my asthma. I certainly hope not, but at the moment, my asthma can not be considered normal and my FEV1 is just creeping up. My friend is right, until I know that I can get normal again. I have no business doing what I am doing. Now, if I can just tell the stubborn side of me to layoff. So far, the stubborn side is winning.

Genealogy – My parents are up for the weekend from Orlando FL and last night we got to talking about my ancestry. I have been kind of interested, but also wanted to keep it a mystery. It seems that my mom, in her retirement, has picked up the hobby of tracing my lineage. On the paternal side, I did not realize that I am forth generation of an Irish immigrant. My mom said she even has the name of the ship they came over on, interesting. On the maternal side (This is the side I am interested in. hmmm…I wonder why), this actually was quite interesting. No, as I expected, no Jewish history too be found here. It looks like, according to my mom, I have an Amish Mennonite ancestry. They originated in Germany and migrated to Pennsylvania. I have studied the Amish in the past because I thought they were interesting, this would make sense. The Amish were religiously persecuted in Europe and forced to find a safer place to live. Pretty amazing stuff and I am glad that my mom made all these discoveries. She seems to be having a lot of fun with it.

Well, sorry the ramblings have to end.

Have a great weekend, be well, and Shabbat Shalom!!!

4 responses to “Friday Ramblings

  1. Very interesting – I find the Amish approach fascinating and also strangely attractive, in the sense that they do not have to rely on 21st century ways of living to survive. Nothing wrong with that!

    I’m pleased your health isn’t causing any problems this week!

    Shabbat Shalom!

  2. How nice you learned a bit more about your ancestry!

    You know what I want to say, but I will refrain. LOL

    Shabbat Shalom!

  3. One of my favorite movie is Witness and I often stuyi bits with my students who have generally never heard of Amish before. When they see the black hats and suits some of them assume the characters are Jewish!
    I think your decision about marathon is the right one for the time being.
    Shavua tov!

  4. That’s pretty cool stuff, your ancestry!

Leave a Reply

