Veteran’s Day 2010

I would like to thank all those who have served and are serving now for your selfless act of defending this country, The United Stated of America.

This day reminds of many years ago when I attended a Nascar event in St. Louis. The veterans and those currently serving were asked to standup and be recognized. Surprisingly, not a whole lot of people stood that day. I even had to make my dad stand up to be recognized. It was touching that over 100,000 people cheered all those who stood up. To this day I have been touched by this event.

I am so proud of my dad for serving his country involuntarily during the Vietnam War, thanks dad for your service. I would like to thank my grandfather for serving in the Army during WW2 as a Military Police in the Philippines. I would also thank my other grandfather for serving in the Navy during WW2 as a cook. Both of my grandfathers are no longer with me, I miss you and I tell my children about you all the time.

3 responses to “Veteran’s Day 2010

  1. Such a lovely tribute.

  2. Yes, a really touching memoir. We had our Poppy Day here today-and everybody observed the two minutes silence at 11am. The 11th hour on the 11th day of the 11th month.
    School stood silent, the streets were silent the TV stations shut down for those 2 minutes.
    Yes, lest we should forget.

    Thank G_d for those men and women who fought so that we could live in freedom.

    I wear my Poppy with pride. x

Leave a Reply

