Friday Ramblings

Hi faithful readers, I hope you week went well. I sure had an interesting one, but I a good one nonetheless.

Health – Much, much, much better! The start of the week was a little rough because prednisone really kicked my butt this time. Yeah, it got me back to normal but wrecked havoc on my body. The only thing that has been bothering me at this time is my legs. Not sure what is going on but they seem missed up for some reason. Not a good thing to be feeling with a big race looming in a month.

Training – Yay, I start training again this weekend. I am looking forward to getting out there. I thought about getting in one short training walk this week but thought it might be wise to let my lungs rest after last weeks flare. Probably, not good for the legs because they need a shake down walk, but what is this lunger too do? I am still trying hard not to worry too much about being undertrained for the next race. Yeah, this whole asthma and exercise thing is tricky and I am too inexperienced in both to have a good recovery plan yet. On the bright side, I am going to do my best, like I always do, because I am not a quitter!

January Race – Yikes, it’s looming! This by far will be the most demanding and biggest race I have done yet. I have made up my mind that I am going to fulfill my dream that I had in February. Yes, that dreamer had no idea that he was going to get asthma but he is not a quitter.

I was watching Survivor this week and two players quit the game because they could not handle the weather anymore. I was deeply moved by this. Being part of the show is probably not easy and I suspect that it takes a stroke of luck to be casted. It seems bizarre to me that two players given this once in a life time chance to be on Survivor would just quit.

Watching that episode has given me motivation I needed to remove doubt that has been rattling around in my head. I am going to Florida and I am going to do my absolute best and let the chips fall where they may. Walt Disney World Marathon has a pace requirement which is pretty standard now days because these races are starting to attract a massive amount of walkers. So, as long as I maintain a pace above 16 minute miles, I won’t have to get on a bus at their cut-off points. My thought is, I am going to walk to that finish line in both races and get my medals. If I happen to get picked-up involuntarily by a sweeper bus then it wasn’t from a lack of trying. Needless to say, I am not quitting!!!

Yes, I am undertrained. Yes, I guess I could have been more motivated to train! Yes, I have other things to worry about and that’s my health. Yes, my health dictates my training and racing. And yes, I might have bitten off more than I can chew.

In the end, I just want to be proud of myself and hold my head high no matter what happens!

Whew, talk about rambling!

Be well and have a great weekend, Happy Chanukkah  and Shabbat Shalom!!!

3 responses to “Friday Ramblings

  1. “Much, much, much better!” – yay
    Of course you want to racing – part of being healthy is doing what you enjoy. Although, as long as what you enjoy is healthy…

    Take care! “Happy Chanukkah and Shabbat Shalom!!!” – yes

  2. Happy Chanukah and Shabbat shalom! You can do it! I believe in you. Happy to hear you’re doing better.

  3. Good to read you are better.
    Chag Sameach!

Leave a Reply

