Friday Ramblings

Hi everyone, I hope your week was a good one!

Yes, I have been a little busy this week. I should have posted something throughout the week but could not squeeze in the time, sorry.

Health – Had a really good week. Wednesday, I felt so good that I didn’t feel like a person that has asthma (an awesome day). However, it was short-lived, my PF Thursday morning was awful. I kind of had to drive though smoke (leaf burning again!!!) to get to the post office on Wednesday. Sadly, there was no place to turn around. Not sure if this was the culprit or I lost the battle with my sinuses.

Training – I hit the streets again on Sunday and got a somewhat productive training walk in. I was shooting for 20 miles but only managed to get in 15 this go around. My IT band got the best of me and my pace dropped to a crawl. Plus, it was a lot warmer outside the first couple of hours (Yeah, if one could call 20F warm) but turned bitter cold the last hour. It didn’t help that my shoe selection just happened to be band new shoes, not a good idea. I never said that I was a rocket scientist. Anyway, with pain and the cold weather conditions, I thought it was best to stop and get warm. I still have one more 20 mile training walk on the schedule in two weeks, so I need to get that in if at all possible. After that I start tapering for the race, Yahoo!

I did some research and found some exercises to try, which hopefully will easy my IT band inflammation. Basically, I have weak hips and my legs are compensating for this weakness. Yeah, I should work on my core but I have been a tad lazy about it.

This Sunday I have an easy 12 mile walk scheduled. So, I will continue to march on and play it by ear.

Something too share – I have this thing for menorahs (I don’t have one yet, long story). Chabad.org had a contest on Facebook and I have enjoyed looking at all the menorahs (Here is the link).

Have a great weekend everyone and Be Well, Shabbat Shalom!!!

7 responses to “Friday Ramblings

  1. Hey! You’re too early! Its not Friday yet! At least not in the US… I’m happy you had some time to breathe well and remind yourself what it’s like. Feels good, doesn’t it? 🙂

    • Shhhh…Don’t tell anyone! LOL I have a really busy day Friday and I wanted to get this out before I forget.

      Yes, it does feel good. It makes those bad days disappear. 🙂

  2. Ouch! The IT band mention made me wince! My good friend who is a trainer used to make me roll my leg across a hard sponge tube to help remove the tension from my IT bands. Uncomfortable was NOT the word!

    Happy Friday!

    • Ouch is right! Yeah, the roller is on my wish list. I know it will do the trick, just haven’t gotten around too it. It’s been a reacquiring injury that I need to get a handle on.

  3. I’m glad you have had a great week healthwise.
    Shabbat Shalom!

  4. Take care with the training. Mother is watching.

    Shabbat Shalom!

Leave a Reply

