2010 In Review

Boy, I can’t believe it. The end of 2010 is near. I was thinking about titling this post “2010 a Bittersweet Year.” Then I thought, no it was not exactly that, how about “2010 a Bitter and Sweet Year.” Regardless of these titles, I decided on a much plainer one.

I have to admit, 2010 was a sweet year. Here are some highlights:

1) In February, my second son little “R” was born (here is a post on his birth). Little R was born 10 weeks early and spent the first 7 weeks of his life in the hospital. Even though the circumstance of R’s birth is a tad bitter, the outcome was totally sweet. God is good!!!

2) In April, I walked my first half marathon. I loved the race and hope to walk it in 2011.

3) In August, I decided to start blogging again after a many month hiatus. I am so glad that I did. I have met so many new friends this year because of it. I hope that continues into 2011.

4) In October, I walked my first marathon. This was a really tough race. I started getting sick about the start of training for this event, but I overcame the health issues and finished the race. I still struggle with this race emotionally. However I am happy to have done it.

I have to admit, 2010 was a bitter year.

1) In August, I was diagnosed with asthma. My first symptoms really started about two weeks after walking my first half marathon in April. I did not know what was going on so I waited it out hoping it would pass. By July, I was really starting to go down hill and managed to get my first bout of bronchitis. One of my meds prescribed to me was a rescue inhaler (ProAir, which I like better than Ventolin but my insurance won’t pay its share for me to get it). I learned pretty quickly after daily use of the inhaler that something is just not right. So, after a month on the inhaler and I was starting to run out. I went to see my primary doctor for some help and he referred me to a pulmonologist. Come to find out, after my thorough PFT (Pulmonary Function Test), I definitely had asthma. Yeah, a lung function of 54% without meds, yikes!

Needless to say, this was a big blow for me. I have had my moments of feeling sorry for myself, which I still struggle with. Having asthma has been a whole lifestyle change for me. October and November, I had two of my worst asthma episodes so far. I have never been that sick in my life. Heck, this marathoner could not even climb a flight of stairs or barely drive himself to urgent care for help. I know, it will take some time to get use to this new norm and I have gotten better.

As for my outlook for the year 2011, I really have no expectations. I am going to continue to search for a spiritual home and take care of my health issues. Plus, a little racing, God willing.

7 responses to “2010 In Review

  1. Your August decision was god news for your readers and seems to have connected you with other sufferers.
    Wishing you all the best in your spiritual search and with your health issues.

  2. Hello, James,

    It’s good to see your words, but I’m sorry to learn about the asthma.

  3. What a rollercoaster for you! But yes, I echo Ilana Davita – we’re pleased you came back to blogging.

    Happy New Year to you – and Shabbat Shalom xx

Leave a Reply

