Friday Ramblings

Hi Everyone! Hope you had a great week.

Health – Not doing so well since Wednesday night. I started breathing out of control just after I left the parking lot of work to head home. Been down this road a few times and I knew that I needed help so I drove to Express Care. Well, they freaked out on me and thought I was having a heart attack. So, they took me immediately to the examining room even though the waiting room was full of patients. After a breathing treatment and some O2 my breathing started to become normal again. The doctor prescribed me antibiotics and 6 days of Prednisone, yuk. As of this writing I am still out of breath when standing for short periods of time and waking around. I am good as long as I keep my butt planted. Plus, it has been exhausting.

Anyhoo, I have been taking Nebs when needed (about every two to three hours so far) and taking my prescribed meds. Hopefully I will start feeling an improvement in a few days.

Marathon – OK! Yes, I know that last weekend was excessive. But, in my defense, I did sign up for the 39.3 mile race pre-asthma. Yes, I could have thrown in the towel and only did the half marathon or none. I knew coming into this race that I would more than likely have troubles a few days after. It is obvious that my lungs get irritated by mileage of more than 20 miles. But, seriously, what am I supposed to do? Should I just let asthma rule my life and tell me what I can’t do? Heck, I know what some are thinking. Why do I do it if it is going to make me sick? I do it because I like it and I am an athlete.

Here is the deal, next month is my pulmonologist visit and I am going to discuss this whole marathon thing with him. I am going to make sure that I am not hurting my lungs when doing these long events. I will explain that I have had the same lung troubles after both marathons and ask him if it is wise to continue. Yes, I would be disappointed but I will stop if I am hurting my lungs. If not, I can live with getting sick after events.

Anyway, that is my thoughts on this.

Have a great weekend everyone! Be Well!!!

4 responses to “Friday Ramblings

  1. Get well soon!

  2. Hang in there James.

    Your stick-to-it attitude encourages me too. 🙂 Wow, I’ve never seen this site on a computer, only my ipod. This is pretty cool!

    And take care of yourself… nurse’s orders! 😉

Leave a Reply

