Friday Ramblings

Hi Everyone! Its Friday already! I am still trying to figure out were the week went.

Health – I am back to normal for the most part. My sinuses are giving me some trouble and I doing my best to win the battle.

Asthma and Marathons – I have thinking about this a whole bunch. If it was up to me, I would strive to have 10 marathons under my belt before I hit 50 years of age. Why, because there is something appealing about it. I like the feeling of accomplishment that it gives me. I like the battle between me and 26.2 miles. I like that I can play race strategy and execute a well thought out plan. I love that I can share this sport with my sister and have something we can do together.

Unfortunately, there is another side to this story, which is my asthma. The last two weeks have been not so great. Yes, I was sick because of doing a marathon. I have been told by numerous people that I should stop doing them and focus on my health. If you read last weeks Friday Ramblings, I kind of ranted about this. Yes, I am still thinking about it because the subject keeps being brought up.

I realize that people care about me and I truly appreciate it. Plus, I am listening, believe it or not. That is why I am going to talk to my pulmonologist about what we could do to make being an athlete better for me. I will also have the discussion that I dread, rather what I am doing is hurting my lungs or not. I have a pretty good idea why my lungs went crazy. For one, marathons are very stressful on the whole body. Plus, the extended duration of the event, increase of blood flow and oxygen intake, hyper irritated my lungs to a point that my controller meds could not counter it. Interesting part of this is, why does it take three days to surface? Both marathons ended up being this way.

Going back to what I said last week, should I just let my asthma tell me what to do? Don’t get me wrong, I do listen to my body. I know that it is hard for some to believe, but I do. Many times during my training for the marathons last year, I stopped training because I had that feeling that my lungs could not take it. Sadly, I made that decision even though missing training would not be helpful. That is why I am having so much trouble with overuse injures. Frankly, I am playing catch-up all the time and I am unable to put in the appropriate base miles. Putting in the proper base mileage is crucial for an injury free marathon and training. I have a lot to learn.

Should I quit the big mileage events? Sadly, it would break my heart if I have to. I want to stop on my terms and not on asthma terms. I am having a great time and just don’t want to retire yet from this distance or beyond.

Well, enough with the ranting. I should start calling this post “Friday Ranting”.

I wish everyone a great weekend and Be Well!!!

9 responses to “Friday Ramblings

  1. I think we know what Steve would say about this ;). KEEP DOING IT!! Ultimately, it’s your choice, of course, but if you love it, keep doing it, because you won’t be as happy if you won’t!

    Maybe your doctor will have some kind of ideas to help you avoid the residual flare–I know I got pretty sick the day after after my 10K, so I can only imagine how I’d feel after four+ times that. You could also e-mail Dr. Wenzel to see if she has any thoughts on it — if you don’t have her e-mail, just let me know.

    Do what you think is best, but DON’T let your asthma discourage you from doing something you love!

  2. It is your choice, but you know my thoughts, especially re the asthma. You need to figure your priorities out, such as a better health life, vs marathons.

    You could do 10KSs you know. I know it isn’t the same, but it is interacting the way you want.

    xoxo

    • Ouch Rayna, yes I know your take on this. We have had a quite a bit of discussion on this. You thoughts on this weigh heavy on me. I guess that happens when you are my big sister. 😉

      xoxo

  3. I’m with Kerri on this! If there’s something you want to do, don’t let anything stop you. You just need to keep working at it. Look into other alternatives, new tips…
    Swimming used to be hell for me, so much so that my doctor actually suggested at one point I quit and find a new sport. I really like swimming. It makes me feel good and proud of myself, so I refused her advice. I tried different pools with different amounts of chlorine (since I think that might be an even bigger trigger than the exercise for me). As a result of trial and error, I discovered that if I take Symbicort half an hour before getting in the pool – instead of Ventolin right before – that does wonders for me. Now I’m down to needing zero to one inhaler break (Ventolin) during swimming instead of the 6-8 puffs and loads of coughing and gasping it took me before to complete a km of swimming. And something I’ve noticed across the board for exercise for me – careful and gradual warm up and cool down are imperitive! I generally have more issues after exercise (usually immediately after) than during, which start as soon as I stop moving. So I’m not saying that everything that works for me would definately work for you, but what I am saying is that you should keep trying! Trial and error! You can do it!

    • Thanks Elisheva!!! Yes, trial and error is the key here. This whole adult onset asthma thing has been and still is overwhelming at times. I will keep plugging away at it though. Honestly, do I have a choice. 🙂

      • Yup. The adult onset thing has got to be very difficult. Kinda scares me. I know I can’t get adult onset asthma, but there’s a chance that my asthma may get worse as I get older (which it hasn’t so far, but I guess it’s possible) or that I may get other diseases… Anyway, keep plugging away. We all believe in you.

  4. Just remember, quality of life is the primary issue. Walking is something you can deal with, but slowly building up to a maximum distance, a distance that is proper for you. It doesn’t mean you delete the activity altogether. You do need to talk to you doctor and pulmonologist.

    Big Sister is watching you. LOL

    xoxoxoxo

  5. I am glad so many are encouraging you to continue. But, the fact remains, you want to be cautious and do it in moderation, which marathons are not in the least bit moderate.

    Your quality of health and life longevity and family are the primary focuses.

Leave a Reply

