Friday Ramblings

Hi everyone!

It has been a tough week. Most of the week I have fighting with my emotions to the point of exhaustion. I am still not doing well today but feel a tad chipper. It helps when a friend writes a comment on my post that she liked it. That brightened my day. I know the subject matter was serious but it was nice to know that my writing was some what coherent. My latest writings seem to be getting better. I am impressing myself anyway.

Well I have been debating something. I can’t decide rather to continue training for the marathon or start training to ride a century (100 miles). My main problem is money. My health issues in the spring didn’t help the pocket book that much. The medical bills are starting to come in and insurance didn’t cover as much as I would have liked. So not much of a budget for sporting events.

The century is really cheap and I have no logistics to worry about. Just 10 hours of epic riding ( hopefully faster by then and it will take less time). The marathon on the other hand is a money pit, hotel and the cost of registering. It is a little steep for the budget. I just can’t help but think it might be a bad idea for this year.

What would it mean to do a century? It would mean a lot to me. There is just a love between me and a bike that I can’t explain. Getting a hybrid bike this year has livened me up so much and I need that. I just think the 100 mile ride would do more for me mental health wise than the marathon. Maybe I am wrong, but it sure reminds me of my cycling days in my 20s. I love that feeling and I think it has been therapeutic for me. Can my lungs hand it? They better!

Am I quitting walking? Heck no, I am still going to race this year. I just can’t do a marathon and a century at the same time. Just too much training and having motivation issues with marathon training anyway. Maybe riding is a good thing. Maybe I am a bit burnt out on walking.

Anywho, thats enough rambling for this Friday. Time to get some rest over the weekend.

Have a great weekend!

4 responses to “Friday Ramblings

  1. Running a whole marathon? Wow, I’m impressed! You’re amazing.

    • Can I be amazing if I walked two marathons? 😉 I am a better walker than a runner. Well, at least I would get there faster. Hehe

      I am just not able to run, lungs and legs hate it. So, walking is the best I can do.

      • How long does it take to walk a marathon? Like a whole day? My lungs and legs hate running too. But guess what? I’ve run 5K twice without slowing to walk twice in the past two weeks. I’m getting there! So proud of myself!

      • You should be proud and I am so happy that you are having a great time. That’s what is important. As for marathon time, I am under 7 hours. Most walker friendly marathons set that time as a limit. Both of my marathons where in the 6:40s range, which is pretty good I think. I did it and that is what counts.

        Keep plugging away, you will be running a whole 10K before you know it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

